Zambranooooooo!

That’s me screaming his name and shaking my fists at the sky. I don’t have enough expletives to hurl at Lou Pinella’s inane decision to put his opening day pitcher, Carlos Zambrano into the bullpen. Couldn’t he at least asked my opinion? Lou must have thought I was booing, rather than Loooooouing back when I saw him play so many moons ago.

I really thought Zambrano turned the corner last night against The Mets as he went 6 and gave up 2.  Aside from his usual opening day blow-up, he’s been alright. Not good, not bad but alright, giving up a lot of cheap hits that have marred his numbers. He’s mowed down hitters at a blistering clip of 12.9 K/9 and even kept his cool when he’s gotten shoddy D behind him or squeezed by the ump. Now I understand that outside of Marmol, The Cubs pen has been Hatchet-Face ugly. I’ve seen a lot of ugly bullpens, but never before have I seen a club ask it’s supposed ace (who’s making about $18 million this year by the way) to go out there and earn his money… by getting out three batters?!

Now I’m left with some decisions to make. Aaron Hill is supposed to come off of the DL on Friday, which means I have to drop someone. It was going to be Ian Desmond and it still might be. Meanwhile, I’m trailing or tied in all of the pitchers counting categories and my opponent’s got at least 3 more starts than me scheduled for the remainer of the week. I may be picking up Mister Fister after all.

Bad day all around for the Uptown Ham Fighters. First the Z news, then Buerhle goes and gets rocked and to top it off, nobody’s hitting aside from Fat Ichiro and J-Will tonight. Not fun. Better luck tomorrow boys.

Leave a Reply

