Blowing Smoak?

This was supposed to be Chris Davis‘ break-out year. The experts touted him, tantalized by the thought of his monstrous power, nestled in that potent Rangers lineup. So many fantasy owners followed suit in spite of a lifetime .302 OBP and 6.1%/34.6% BB/K rate. Sorry guys but I have to share a little schadenfreude, since now I know I’m not the only miserable fantasy owner in my leagues this week. I guess it was inevitable. If you carry a line of .200/.265/.311, you’re not going to stick around in the majors too long. And that’s with a .300 BABIP no less! The Texas Rangers waited and waited for Chris Davis to develop into a solid hitter. After another 0 for day, The Rangers decided they couldn’t wait anymore.

Enter: *POOF* Justin Smoak! (How’s he do that?!)

Ranked the #13 prospect by Baseball America, the switch-hitting first baseman has been absolutely pwning the PCL with a line of 326/.500/.587 and a gaudy 16/6 BB/K ratio. That said, I’ve been hearing comparisons between Smoak and former Ranger, Mark Texiera for a couple of years now and frankly, I’m not buying it. The power numbers just aren’t there to make such lofty projections. While he may not have a ton of pop (10 HR in 464 2009 AA & AAA PA) Smoak does possess the sort of advanced plate discipline that should keep him out of severe slumps and keep him in the Texas lineup for a long time to come. Since Arlington is a homer haven, Smoak’s power should get a little boost playing at home.

Rotoworld dropped the story at 11:15 PM apparently. I heard the news, while on Razzball, about an hour later. In the Big Ballers League, he was gone by 12:03 AM. Gotta move quick to catch Smoak!

I don’t think I’m going to make a claim on him in my Keeper League, as my corners are deep and I have Carlos Santana waiting for his call up. Smoak looks like an excellent pickup in that format however, as I suspect he will develop his power and turn into a solid hitter and on base machine. I really do want to take him though, just to stick it to Davis’ owner… like Pinella stuck it to me yesterday. Yeah I’m still bitter.

Welcome to the bigs kid. Don’t go blowing Smoak up our asses now.

Share

Leave a Reply

