Replacing Nelson Cruz

That sound you just heard was the collective groans of fantasy owners everywhere reading that Nelson Cruz and his balky hamstring have finally ended up on the DL. How do I replace a guy who’s Slugging a MLB leading .778? I don’t I suppose. All I can do is try to find some cheap power production to use as a stop-gap measure in Nelly’s absence. As for Nelson’s Texas Rangers? David Murphy will slide over to right and Craig Gentry was called up from AAA Oklahoma City today.

Needing someone to fill those gaping roster spots that I suddenly found in both of my teams, I sought the wisdom of Grey at Razzball (much like the wisdom of Solomon) to make a choice between Mr. Sunglasses At Night or Dave Of Jesus in my 12 team league. While he had a lousy spring and got in manager Ken Macha’s doghouse early, Corey Hart’s got the upside and hits in a lineup that’s been putting up Football scores. David DeJesus has been hitting at a decent enough clip (23/79 14R/2HR/10RBI/1SB/.291/.349) to begin 2010, but he’s also posting a career worst .46 BB/K rate and an inflated .328 BABIP (.318 career BABIP). Oh yeah and he hits in one of the games worst batting orders.

Corey Hart is the best player in a three-man platoon over two outfield spots in Brewland. Carrying a 13/47 4R/2HR/10RBI/2SB/.277/.364 line into play today, he’s been the hot hand, starting three straight games this week. Showing un-Hart-like patience so far this year, he carries a nice 7/9 BB/K split, which I find quite heartening to his SB totals. This guy was a big deal, with 20-20 cred back in ’08 and is currently hitting in a strong lineup, that should provide plenty of opportunities for counting numbers.

In the 15 team NFBC style, Big Ballers League the pickings are a bit slimmer. I thought I had the man for the job, but some sonovabitch grabbed Nate Schierholtz just minutes before I could. That left me with some other less than ideal choices. The underwhelming Austin Kearns being the best of a bunch that includes Chris Dickerson, Eugenio Velez and Matt Diaz. Right. Crap crap and more crap. Not to be confused with photographer Kern, Kearns got a little pop and has been hitting well for Cleveland as of late. Austin, meet Austin Jackson. Don’t get too comfortable Austin. No, not you. The other one. Desperate times call for desperate measures. Maybe Kearns can channel 2006 for two weeks, while Nelly gets right. Lets all us Nelson Cruz owners hold hands and give a silent prayer to the baseball god of hamstrings, in hopes that Senior Boomstick is back soon.

It’s a marathon and not a sprint, I remind myself, so I can’t get too down on my prospects of victory and end up making poor decisions. Now excuse me while I have a talk with mister Johnny Walker and try to numb the pain.

2 Responses to Replacing Nelson Cruz

  1. deepfriedthroat says:

    T’ROW McEWING IN THERE!!! HE’S READY TO PLAY, COACH!

Leave a Reply

